500 Fights In - Tips for New Players

Hello,

Title explains. I’m 500 fights in and just wanted to give my commentary as a new player. I made sure not to include any duplicate tips already provided by TartanTornado and his awesome beginner’s tip post. I tried to make these as original as possible, and they are all exclusively coming from my own way of playing. I’m by no means an expert and I’m sure there are some BEASTS just destroying this game like I couldn’t even dream of. I just wanted to give the perspective of a new player in his first 2 weeks of drinking from a fire hose and learning to play this game. I’ve included my gym stats as well for full transparency so you can see how good (or bad haha) I am. Hopefully this helps you with starting up.

Disclaimer: Obviously these are general tips. So many factors can make or break some of these. And I could be completely wrong. Just use your best judgment in combination with.

Record: 416-71-13
Weeks: 801
Total Fighters: 19
Gyms (size): USA (8) Japan (6)
Funds: $224,019,673
6 undisputed champions (11 total weight classes), 63-12 (51) Title Fight Record

Weekly To-do List - Generally how I structure my week. Nice to just KNOW what you’re going to do, especially once your stable grows it can be overwhelming and time consuming if you forget what to do next. Use or tweak and create your own.

• Stable fights - I like to do this first. Hard to focus on admin when I have a title fight on my mind. Not to mention it makes more sense to do contracts/target opponents/adjust training after a bout.
  • Renew contracts/Re-negotiate contracts
  • Schedule fights/Review rankings to target potential next opponent (Top 10-20 ranked fighters typically)
  • Adjust training schedules of fighters not scheduled if needed
  • Review available fighters to sign (if open stable room)

Training